Spinach Salad with Apples and Dried Berries

Tonight I had just gotten back from a run (the rain held off all day!) and I wanted something light and quick for dinner. I decided on one of my favorite salads that has countless variations. I have made this salad for holiday dinners and brought it to bbq’s… and it is always a crowd pleaser. You can change up the ingredients based on what you have on hand  or what is fresh at the market.

It always starts with a base of washed baby spinach

Then fruit… either apples, pears or berries, sliced up. I used the diced cinnamon apples left over from this morning’s breakfast (see recipe here). My mom puts the apples and cinnamon in a gallon size zip top bag (left open an inch or two) and microwaves them for 30 seconds or so to save time.

Next comes the cheese… use a strong cheese like blue cheese, I used feta.

I tossed in some dried mixed berries for sweetness (cranberries and blueberries mostly. I ate all of the dried strawberries… oops)

Then I diced up some tomatoes as well and added them on top

Candied walnuts also go great with this salad… a few tablespoons of brown sugar and 1/4 cup walnuts… wrap in foil and put them in a 350 degree oven for 5-10 mins… you start to smell them when they are close to done. Keep an eye on them though, they go from golden to burnt in a matter of seconds

Then comes my favorite part… the dressing. I like to make mine in a glass mason jar. You add all of the ingredients and close the lid tight… then shake it until it’s mixed. It will keep in the fridge for a few weeks; just shake it up each time before use.

Maple Balsamic Dressing

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 teaspoons maple syrup

top salad with the shaken up dressing just before eating

Spinach Salad with Apples and Dried Berries

1 bag baby spinach

1/4 cup crumbled feta (more or less based on your preference)

2 apples diced and cooked with cinnamon

1/4 cup dried fruit

2 small tomatoes diced

1/4 candied walnuts (optional)

Maple Balsamic Dressing (see recipe above)

Toss all ingredients together in a bowl, top with dressing just before serving and enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Salads

One response to “Spinach Salad with Apples and Dried Berries

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Portabella Mushrooms | Kiwi to My Heart

Leave a Reply

