Grilled Mango and Bell Peppers

My new apartment has a little porch just big enough for a small grill and a small chair or two (with some clever arrangement). My family has a cute little grill, the Webber Q, (yes I just called my grill cute… not two words that go together often, but hey I’m a girly griller). This grill was bought on super sale maybe 7 years ago for our ski house in NH. Sad to say, we no longer have the house, but the grill was just sitting in the basement. So, after hinting that I had a porch the perfect size for this compact grill, my parents brought it up when they helped me move in. Its perfect size for Mark and me and it heats up in a flash because it’s so small. Did I mention it’s portable… the stand collapses down into a pull cart with a handle, much like that of a rolling suitcase. Grilling at Seneca Lake State Park (about 4 blocks away) on the weekends… I think so.

So now that I’ve bored you with my cute grill talk, let’s talk about what I grilled. My mom picked up a grill pan for me as a house warming present. These things are great; you still get the char from the grill, but none of the veggies fall through the grate. If you grill often… seriously, get one of these. They come in all shapes and sizes and are around $10. I decided to grill up some mango and red bell peppers, a great combination of flavors. I usually go with an Asian influenced marinade to top them. The salty bite from the glaze combined with the sweetness from the mango and peppers is divine. If you are a fish eater, throw some of the marinade on some tuna steaks and grill them up as well… my parents love it. It’s great for a light summer meal.

Grilled Mango and Bell Peppers

Serves 3-4 as a side

1 mango, peeled, pit removed and sliced into long strips or spears, it is best if this is only semi-ripe, the riper it is, the mushier it gets and the more it tends to fall apart on the grill. Fret not, the grill will concentrate its sweetness, making it taste like a ripe mango.

1 red bell pepper, cored, ribs and seeds removed, cut into strips

3 tablespoons (low sodium) soy sauce

1 teaspoon rice vinegar

1 tablespoon water

1 clove of garlic, minced or pressed through a garlic press

black pepper to taste

½ inch cube of fresh ginger, minced fine or grated on a micro plane or few dashes of dried/powdered ginger

Preheat the grill to medium-low heat. Spray grill pan with non-stick spray. Place soy, vinegar, water, garlic and ginger in a zip top bag. Slice the mango by removing the cheeks from the giant seed in the middle, by slicing down the length of the mango as close to either side of the seed as you can get. Then slice the two remaining sections of mango off of the seed. Cut each hunk of mango into long strips, remove the skin from each slice… this is the method I like for this but if you have a better method, then by all means use that. Slice the pepper into strips of similar size to the mango. I like to run my knife around the stem and pull that out, taking most of the ribs and seeds along with it. Then slice the pepper into strips, removing white ribs as necessary as you slice. Add prepared mango and peppers to the marinade. Zip the top of the bag and shake to coat. Place them in an even layer on the grill pan and put the pan onto the grill. Cook a few minutes on each side until the peppers start to blister and the mangos start to caramelize and brown. Remove from heat and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

