Spinach Lasagna

So this post is way over due, I made this recipe about 2 weeks ago… but the night I planned to blog about it I got in a car accident. So needless to say, blogging was the last thing on my mind. I’m fine but my car has a 5,500 dollar booboo.  I spent the last week on vacation in Rhode Island with my family (that’s where I was headed when the accident happened).

Any who apologies aside, this post is about a get together that we had with family friends the last time I went home to CT. We shared stories and laughter over spinach lasagna, a salad loaded with veggies and some blueberry, peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream. This spinach lasagna is a secret family recipe but incredibly simple and delicious. I have to give props to my mom, this is her recipe (and its just about the only thing she makes well) but don’t let that turn you away, I can attest… it is very good.

Vacation was much needed after my whole car ordeal… we spent a week at the beach boogie boarding, surfing, kayaking, and biking (oh and of course running). It was so nice to have the salty sea breeze blowing in my hair and sand between my toes. One thing I really miss living in Geneva is not being a 10 minute drive from the ocean anymore… I’m a beach kid at heart.

Spinach Lasagna

Makes 1 full lasagna pan… cut pieces as big or as small as you’d like

6  large  fresh lasagna noodles

6 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese

8 cups of your favorite tomato sauce

2 lbs (32 oz) of ricotta cheese

1 egg

1 box (~10 oz) frozen chopped spinach

2 cans of diced tomatoes

In a bowl mix together sauce and diced tomatoes. Defrost spinach according to package directions (usually involves about 5 min in a microwave). In a large bowl mix together the spinach, ricotta and egg. Spoon thin, even layer of sauce onto the bottom of the lasagna pan… this prevents the lasagna from sticking so make sure you cover the whole bottom. Run two of the fresh noodles under the tap and place them side by side in the bottom of the pan so that they cover it from end to end… they might overlap a little in the middle. Spoon half of the ricotta mixture over the top. Spread it evenly over the noodles. Sprinkle with 2 cups of mozzarella cheese.

Spoon ~3 cups of sauce evenly over the cheese. Run two more noodles under the tap and place in pan (as above). Repeat spreading the remaining ricotta mixture, then 2 cups of mozzarella, and ~3 cups of sauce. Then top with the 2 remaining noodles, run under the tap.

Top with the remaining sauce and mozzarella cheese.

Bake in a 350°F oven for about an hour. Bake for about 50 mins covered in foil then take it off for the last 10 mins to brown the top. Make sure the center is hot after baking, this can be done using an instant read thermometer… it should read at least 145°F. Or if you don’t have a thermometer, stick a clean finger in the center to feel if it is hot. Let it stand for about 15 minutes before slicing into it.

Check out this pic of the full moon from vacation (and a few other vacation pics)

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Spinach Lasagna

  1. Pingback: Fried Chickpeas | Kiwi to My Heart

Leave a Reply

