Stuffed Peppers

At the Geneva Farmers Market I picked up some strawberry-jalapeño jam, (Mark’s new found favorite jam), some peaches and basket of mixed sweet peppers. Last post I talked about stuffing other veggies aside from squash and I decided I should come up with a recipe for stuffed peppers, since I now have a whole basket full.

Mark told me that it was the best thing I’ve made him since he moved in… in all honesty, that isn’t saying much. We grilled one night, made quesadillas another, and went out to dinner the third, but they were pretty tasty. I sautéed up some ground sausage and added it into Mark’s peppers and cooked ours in two separate pans to prevent sausage juice from leaching into my peppers.

 

Today we went hiking at Letchworth Sate Park and now Mark is cooking dinner, his version of curry. I have no idea what is happening since I’ve been kicked out of the kitchen… but it smells good.

Stuffed Peppers

Serves 2-4

Sweet peppers tops removed and seed scooped out, ours were small so 2 for me and 4 for Mark

1 cup brown rice

1 ½ cups water

½ a medium onion, chopped

¾ cup of black beans

1 cup of corn

3 tablespoons of chive cream cheese

1-2 tablespoons of chipotle pepper sauce or your favorite hot sauce

½-1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper

Salsa (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350. Cook the rice according to package directions… usually 1:1.5 ratio rice to water, and it can cook anywhere from 10 min to ½ an hour, depending on the type. With about 5 mins to go on the rice add in the onion, with 1 min to go add in the beans and corn. Turn off the heat and add in hot sauce, cayenne, and cream cheese. Mix well. This is where I scooped out some rice and added it to some broken up browned sausage for Mark. Fill each pepper with the rice mixture, until just overflowing.

Place in a foil lined pan, keeping veggie and sausage peppers separate. Cook for about 20 min or until the peppers are soft and the rice is browned. Remove from the pan and enjoy with salsa if desired.

There will be extra rice… it goes great in burritos the next day (what I had for lunch today)

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Stuffed Peppers

  1. Is that “elephant poop paper” I spy? 🙂 You guys look great – keep the recipes coming!

Leave a Reply

