Goats Cheese and Kale Stuffed Mushrooms

I love coming home to my parent’s house. When I walked in the door on Friday, right around dinner time, my dad was unloading groceries. He had picked up a bunch of my favorite things… portabella mushrooms, kale (everyone could use a dark leafy green in their life), Greek yogurt, a jar of peanut butter and the ingredients to make butternut squash soup, one of my all time favorite soups.  Last time I had talked to him on the phone he told me about these mushroom caps that were stuffed with kale and goats cheese that he had a party that he and my mom went to. He decided to get me the ingredients so I could try to recreate them. What a Dad! Not to mention my stress level has decreased exponentially since I got home (and taking the weekend off from work doesn’t hurt either).

Kale and Cheese stuffed Portabella Mushrooms

Makes 2 stuffed caps

2 large portabella mushroom caps, stems removed and ribs scooped out

2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoons of olive oil

1 clove of garlic minced

Black pepper to taste

Red pepper flakes to taste

½ a bunch of Kale, chopped or cut in a chiffonade

3 tablespoons of water

2 tablespoons of cheese, preferably goats cheese but I used feta this time because it was on hand

Preheat grill to medium heat. Rub 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar over the surface of the mushrooms, both inside and out. Place on the grill rib side down. While the mushrooms grill, preheat a skillet to medium heat and add oil. Once oil is heated add the minced garlic. Sauté for 2 mins then add in chopped kale, water, red pepper flakes and black pepper. Cover and let wilt for 5-7 minutes, stirring it occasionally. Flip the mushrooms and grill on the other side for 2-3 minutes. Then remove from heat and fill with wilted kale. Top each with a tablespoon of cheese and place back on the grill until the cheese melts. Remove from heat and drizzle with ½ tablespoon of balsamic vinegar each. Serve with a sharp knife.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

