Squash Soup

Life has been crazy busy lately. This past Thursday though Sunday I was in the Catskills looking at sedimentary rocks… I know fascinating right?

So I had to turn a bunch of work in early for the classes I was going to miss and when I got back I had an exam on Tuesday and another one today. Tonight I had literally no homework… which to be honest was quite strange given the past month of endless work. So I enjoyed some home cooked Mid-Week Middle Eastern with some fellow foodies. The spread was rediculous… falafel, tahini, hummus, pitas, cucumbers with dill, cous cous and stuffed mushrooms… it was all fantastic and I have some lovely ladies to thank for it (all I did was wash some mushrooms and a few dishes)

Anywho, this post is so overdue, I made it with my dad 2 weeks ago. This is his recipe, and it is fantastic, especially for this time of year. I also made some whole wheat Italian bread with basil to go along with it in my mom’s bread maker (that I got her for Christmas last year)

Squash Soup


2 Butternut squash
1  Acorn squash
1 32 oz container of veggie stock

1 large onion diced

1 apple, tart and crisp like a granny smith
1 jalapeño (Seeds removed and chopped up)
1 to 2 teaspoons black pepper
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/4 cup (fat free/low fat) half and half
1 to 2 teaspoons of brown sugar
dollop of sour cream

Preheat oven to 350. Cut squash in half and remove seeds. Spray inside with olive oil cooking spray. Sprinkle black pepper on inside. Bake, cut side down, on a foil covered baking sheet for 30 to 45 minutes.


While squash is baking place stock, jalapeño, chopped onion, black pepper and crushed red pepper to a large pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer  for ½ an hour.
When squash is soft, remove from oven and scoop squash out of its skins.. careful, it’s hot. Add the squash to the stock. Add the brown sugar. Continue to simmer for 30 to 45 minutes. Remove from heat and use a hand mixer to beat mixture until smooth. Then add the half and half slowly while mixing.
Serve with a scoop of sour cream on top.
It tastes better if it sits overnight in the fridge.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Squash Muffins with Streusel Topping | Kiwi to My Heart

Leave a Reply

