Navajo Stew

I’m home for Christmas visiting the fam. Let me tell you, it’s been a wild and crazy time…

I did a puzzle (well minus one piece… it’s missing)

I crocheted a head band to keep my ears warm (even though it’s 50 and raining)

I helped my brother pick out an ugly sweater (our resemblance… uncanny)

I’ve logged 20 miles on my parent’s treadmill in the past 5 days (training for the 11 miles I’m running in the  Seneca 7)

And I helped my best friend from home do some Christmas shopping

This recipe for Navajo Stew is from one of my professors. I quickly realized that I already had a copy of this recipe in one of my Moosewood Cookbooks. Mark’s parents got them for me a few Christmases ago.

And sure enough it was one of the pages I had doggie eared. I made this soup during finals. I’ll post the original recipe but I opted for a few changes. I didn’t roast the veggies, I sauteed them and I didn’t pure the veggies… I was trying to conserve the amount of dishes Mark would have to do. I also added some delicata squash and added a bit more spice than the recipe called for.

Navajo Stew (Moosewood Restaurant Ithaca, NY)

Serves 4

2 medium sweet potatoes

2 red bell peppers

1 large onion

4 garlic cloves, minced

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 tablespoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 15-ounce can of tomatoes

1 tablespoon canned chipotles in adobo sauce

2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1 15-ounce can of black beans, drained

flatbread

plain yogurt or sour cream

chives

Preheat the oven to 450°. Lightly oil a baking sheet. Peel the sweet potatoes and cut into 1-inch cubes. Stem and seed the peppers and cut into 1-inch pieces. Peel the onion and cut it stem end to root end into thin wedges. In a bowl, toss the vegetables with the garlic, oil, cumin, salt, and pepper. Spread on the prepared baking sheet and roast in the oven for about 10 minutes. Stir and continue to roast for another 10 to 15 minutes, until the sweet potatoes are tender but not mushy. While the vegetables roast, puree the tomatoes, chipotles, and cilantro in a blender until smooth. Set aside. When the vegetables are tender, put them into a 2- to 3-quart baking dish, stir in the tomato-cilantro sauce and the beans, and return to the oven until hot, about 10 minutes. A few minutes before serving, warm the bread in the oven. Serve the stew in bowls topped with chives, and yogurt or sour cream,  with warm flatbread on the side.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, soup

Leave a Reply

