Roasted Root Vegetables

I hope every one had a good holiday.

Mine was a cooks dream:

I got an immersion blender

It came with a wire whisk attachment, a chopping bowl that chops nuts, cheese, etc. and a blending jug to measure ingredients and make smoothies etc. I’m so excited for all of the Soup Sunday’s to come!

 

A 16 piece set of ceramic bakeware

(my aunt has the same set and I fell in love with at Thanksgiving)

A tripod for my trusty Canon

I think it makes him look like a robot. I shot this with my Dad’s Nikon D40X… maybe one day I’ll be able to afford a SLR like that. Not that I don’t love my Canon, he has 14x optical zoom, 14.1 megapixels and a manual setting

and… $100 to Wegman’s, our grocery store back in Geneva… yay free food!

Christmas dinner was great, I got to use all my new cooking gadgets and it was pretty tasty too.  I was responsible for veggies and salad. I roasted a bunch of root veggies in my new bakeware and threw together a fancy looking and sounding salad (but it was super easy to make). I also made some broccoli rabe, which  I though could have been better, it was a tad bitter. I blanched it, but I guess not long enough, I think part of the issue was that it wasn’t as fresh as I would have liked.

I’ll pass along the salad and roasted root veggies recipes and keep working on the broccoli rabe.

Roasted Root Vegetables

5 carrots, peeled and cubed (big carrots, not 5 baby carrots)

3 parsnips, peeled and cubed

2 turnips, peeled and cubed

4 red potatoes, cubed (not peeled)

1 medium onion, cut in half, ends removed and sliced thinly

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon rosemary

1 teaspoons thyme

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Placed prepared veggies on a baking sheet or in a casserole dish, top with oil, garlic and spices. Toss to coat, and bake in 400 degree oven for 30ish minutes, stirring occasionally,  until veggies are tender, and can be pierced though with a fork.

Spinach and Radicchio Salad with Pears and Parmesan

4 cups of spinach

1/2 head of radicchio, cored and sliced thinly

2 oz of parmesan, shaved (I used a vegetable peeler to do this)

1/2 a bosh pear cored and sliced thinly

Balsamic-Maple-Dijon Dressing

1 mason jar with lid (or other seal-able container)

3 tablespoons Dijon mustard

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1/4 cup maple syrup

black pepper

 

Add all ingredients to mason jar, close lid and shake to combine. Shake each time before serving.

Stores in fridge or on counter for up to 2 weeks

 

For Dessert, we had Chocolate Covered Peanut Butter Balls, cheesecake and my Aunt’s famous Chocolate Cake… check out that frosting

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Salads

Leave a Reply

