Gluten-Free Granola

Not sure how I missed posting this recipe (probably because I make more food than I can possibly blog about)… I was going though the folder on my computer where I keep all my foodie photos and I found this recipe. It’s for gluten-free granola! I made it for Mark’s parents for the holidays (Marks’ dad is gluten free).

With Valentine’s Day just a few days away, we’ll all be consuming a little more chocolate than we need to (not that it’s a bad thing to eat a little chocolate). Why not be a little different and give cute little baggies or jars of homemade granola instead of chocolate. I feel like the homemade cards and gifts mean so much more than a store bought one. Mark keeps all of the cards that I’ve ever made him in a draw in his desk… and I’ve made him probably a few dozen cards.

We celebrated Valentine’s Day tonight with a special dinner… Pierogis with roasted kale and tofu… I’ll post that soon!

On another note… training for the Seneca 7 is going really well… Mark and I ran at a leisurely pace for half an hour the other day and end up running a little over 3.6 miles, which is roughly an 8:20 pace… not to shabby for a leisure run. I’ve been trying to get back down to sub 8’s now that my shin splint is gone. I think we’ll ramp it up to 40 mins per run soon

Gluten Free Granola

4 cups of gluten-free oats

1 cup of almonds, chopped, or you can buy slivered

1 cup of shredded coconut

1/4 cup of brown sugar

1/4 cup of maple syrup

1/4-1/2 cup of water (depending on your oats and how dry they are)

2 tablespoons of oil

1/2 cup of dried blueberries

1/2 cup of dried cranberries

Combine oats, almonds, coconut, sugar, syrup, and water in a large bowl. Spread onto a large cookie sheet. Bake at 300 for about 45 minutes to an hour, stirring it occasionally. If it starts to brown too quickly, turn the oven down a bit. Remove the pan from the oven once the oats are dry and lightly browned. Let it cool a little and mix in the dried fruit. Store in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Snacks

Leave a Reply

