Guacamole

I find as it gets towards the end of winter, I am so ready for some fresh produce that doesn’t include parsnips and squash (not that I don’t love those veggies). I made a few impulse buys at the store, namely 2 avocados and 1 pineapple, significantly increasing my carbon footprint. They were shipped all the way from Chile (I know, bad environmentalist, I do feel really bad) but I needed some fruit and veggies to pick me up out of my winter blues. I try to buy greenhouse grown veggies from the US, or Mexico if I have to, but I have been craving pineapple for weeks… and next thing I knew, it was in the cart, along with avocados and some yummy veggie sushi! The sushi had brown rice, asparagus, cucumber, roasted red peppers and avocado wrapped in carrot instead of nori.

On another note about the environment, I have seriously cut back on using my car, it’s not worth the gas (I’m still working on a tank of gas from mid January!) or the detriment to the environment. I’ve been walking everywhere, including the 2.5 mile round trip trek to campus. So, I climbed in my car to go to hockey practice the other night (I cannot carry my bag to the rink, it’s too far to carry all my gear and too dark) and my battery was dead… 3 jump attempts later and a drive to recharge my battery.. it’s now functioning again. Is this what I get for trying to be more environmentally friendly?

In addition to all the walking, I have ramped up my training for the Seneca 7… I ran 5 miles on Wednesday and felt fantastic.

Now on to the avocados… I obviously made guacamole, but I changed it up by adding spinach and cannelloni beans to increase the protein, fiber and iron and cut down on the fat. My guacamole has 28 calories in 2 tablespoons versus 43 in regular guacamole. I also shaved off 1.5 grams of fat and you won’t even notice the difference. So load up your plate …

Lightened-Up Guacamole

16 2 tablespoon servings

1 avocado, scooped out of skin and seed removed

1 cup of cannelloni bean (white kidney)

2 cups of spinach

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes

1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper

Blend all ingredients together and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Snacks

Leave a Reply

