Cinco de Mayo Enchiladas

I have reached super-saturation (chem nerds, you know what I mean)… I cannot do another assignment or study for another minute. Luckily, I have one 10 minute presentation on Electronic Waste in Guiyu, China and half of the final question on my nine part Geochem final project left to complete before I can officially say I am a college graduate! My Independent Study is done and so is Mineralogy!

I’m getting a little nostalgic; I am going to miss our cute little 3rd floor apartment. I’m going to miss the 1952 Kenmore Gas Range and the non-functioning fireplace, the bay window in our bedroom, and sneaking the propane tank up the fire escape so we can grill on the porch.

I’m also going to miss Red Dove, the local tavern that specializes in fresh local food and beer. Luckily we’re headed there tonight (for the 5th night in the last 7 days)… hey you only graduate from college once right?

On other totally cool news… Results are in… my overall pace for the Seneca 7 was 7:40! And I passed 31 people over the course of the day (I took 2nd place on the team to Will, who passed 38). I’ve gone on a few really great runs this week… it’s really nice to run with no set goal in mind… no time, no distance… just step, step, repeat. It helps me keep my sanity during finals.

On yet another note today is Cinco de Mayo! Did you know I am graduating with 4 Spanish credits that count towards absolutely nothing? Anywho, I made enchiladas a few nights ago and I figured it was only appropriate to share.

Pepper and Black Bean Enchiladas with Chipotle/Cayenne Sauce

Makes 3 Enchiladas

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1/2 an onion, sliced

1/2 a bell pepper, sliced

1/2 a can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup of corn kernels

1/2 teaspoon of cumin

3 whole wheat 8 inch tortillas

1 cup of cherry tomatoes

2 cayenne peppers, I got dried and steeped them in warm water for 1/2 an hour to soften them

2 chipotle peppers and 2 teaspoon of adobo sauce

1/4 cup of black beans

1/4 cup of shredded pepper jack cheese

First, heat the olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add in the onions and sauté for 2 minutes, and then add in the bell peppers and sauté for another 3 minutes. Then add in the black beans, corn, and cumin and sauté for another 2 minutes. Turn off the heat.

For the sauce: combine the tomatoes, remaining black beans, cayenne peppers, chipotles, and adobo sauce in a food processor and pulse until smooth. If it’s too watery, add in a few more tablespoons of beans and pulse again. This is really spicy, you can remove the seeds of the cayenne or scale back the quantity of peppers if you wish.

Preheat the oven to 350. Spoon a few tablespoons of sauce into the bottom of a casserole dish and spread it around so it covers the whole bottom. Fill each tortilla with 1/3 of the sautéed veggie mixture. Roll them up, without tucking in the ends and lay them seam side down in the dish. Try to find a small dish that fits them snugly, if you can. Spoon the remaining sauce over the top of the tortillas and sprinkle with cheese. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Then remove the foil and bake for an additional 5 to 10 minutes.

Serve with guacamole if so desired

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

