Drunken Grilled Veggies

So, I am beyond excited! My plant boxes on the porch are thriving. They soak up 8 hours of sun a day and as a result my basil has sprouted and I have my first pepper… a hot cherry! There are almost 2 dozen buds on my varying pepper plants, and almost a dozen on my tomato plant! The chives are growing like weeds and a few onion shoots have popped up! YAY!

I also went to the Shelburne Farmer’s Market today, way more reasonably priced than the Burlington Farmers Market and it has much more of a hometown feel. I picked up some spinach and rainbow chard. I can’t wait to use the chard, it is gorgeous.

My mom is coming to visit for the weekend and should be here soon, so I’ll keep this post short. I’ve got a lot planned for us… a walk around Shelburne Farms, dinner in town, and a 12 mile bike ride along the lake tomorrow. I’m so excited for her to come up and see our new home.

Grilled veggies are a staple in our diet, especially durring the summer. I have a pretty standard marinade but I switched it up the other night. Mark was impressed, “these are really good, did you put wine on them?” Yes, I did, I put a splash of a dry Chardonnay for a new twist on an old classic. The best were the mushrooms, they soaked up a lot of the wine, and therefore, flavor.

Drunken Grilled Veggies

1/2 bunch of asparagus, woody ends broken off

1/2 a bell pepper, sliced thinly,

1/2 and onion, sliced into thin rings

1 zucchini, sliced into ¼” rounds

10 shiitake mushrooms, stems removed and cut in half or in thirds depending on the size

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1/4 cup of dry white wine, such as Chardonnay

1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes

2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning

Few dashes of garlic powder

Lots of black pepper

Preheat the grill to medium heat. Place all the ingredients in a zip top bag and shake to coat. Place them on the grill. Let them get crispy and a little charred before you give them a flip. 5-8 minutes on each side, depending on how done you want them. Just give them a check every once in a while. Once they are done to your liking, plate ’em up and enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

