Coconut Banana Muffins with Millet

My mom visited this weekend. We did a lot of walking and a bit of biking too. I went for a quick 3 mile run on Saturday morning. Then when my mom got here, we went for a 4 mile walk along the lake. We hopped on the bus downtown to grab dinner. Then I took her to the lake front park, and we got ice cream… (My first of many this summer, I’m sure) Then we walked back to my apartment, bringing my total miles ran/walked up to around 10 miles. On Sunday morning, we rode our bikes along the lake to get breakfast at Magnolia’s, a super cute little place in downtown Burlington… I got 2 eggs over easy with veggie hash and rye toast.

Then we rode back, roughly a 5 mile ride overall. Then we went shopping for some big girl clothes for a couple of interviews I had lined up this week. After our 1 1/2 hr. shopping marathon, we were both mentally exhausted… we both hate shopping (I know, it’s weird). We headed over to Shelburne Farms for a 4.5 mile walk all through the farm. Then we stopped and got ice cream #2 of the weekend. Sadly after that, it was time for my mom to head home. I’m super glad she got to see our new apartment and that we got to spend time together.

Since we moved to Burlington, we’ve been trying to cut back on our spending. That means lots of coupons and smart shopping lists. This week, millet was on sale for $1.09/lb… so we stocked up on the grain. And I’ve been incorporating the little pearls into a lot of dishes this week. I also picked up some coconut spread, something I’ve wanted to try for ages. And with it on sale and a $2.50 off coupon, it only cost $1.50 vs. its usual $6, so I could justify the investment. What could I make with coconut spread and millet… insert 3 over ripe bananas (this heat wave made them ripen faster than I could eat them)… And coconut banana muffins with millet were born. I took my classic banana bread recipe and made a few switch-a-roos with great success!

Banana Bread

Makes about 14 muffins, or 12 really big ones. I made 12 muffins and a small loaf. Or it makes one large loaf

Scant 2 cups of whole wheat flour

¼ cup of uncooked millet

1 rounded teaspoon of baking powder

Dash of salt

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup coconut spread, softened

2 large eggs, or ½ cup of egg substitute

1 1/2 cups mashed, ripe banana (about 3 bananas)

1/3 cup plain greek yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ cup of flaked coconut (optional)

Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease or spray a 8 ½ X 4 ½ inch loaf pan, or line 14 spaces in a muffin tin with liners.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups, don’t fill them quite to the top. Combine the flour, millet, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk.

Place sugar and coconut spread in a large bowl, and beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended (about 1 minute). Add the eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each one. Add the banana, yogurt, coconut, and vanilla; beat until blended. I just mash the bananas with my fingers. Add flour mixture to the wet ingredients; beat at low speed just until moist. It’s best to add the flour in batches so it doesn’t go everywhere. Spoon the mixed batter into the greased pan or muffin tin. If making a large loaf, bake at 350° for 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. If making muffins, bake at 350° for 20-22 mins. Cool 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack; remove from pan. Cool completely on wire rack (if you can wait that long).

I served mine with some organic peanut butter! The millet gives the muffins a nice little crunch!

Also, shout out to my brother, Harry, for graduating high school! Now he’s off to UNCW to become a marine biologist! (love of preserving water quality runs in the family, I guess)

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Snacks

Leave a Reply

