Greens and Beans

I’ve been trying to get my ducks in a row lately. I been feeling off for the past few months and in the last month it had taken a turn for the worse. And to top it off, I’m in a new city with no doctor lined up. So I started keeping a food journal and recording my symptoms… and I was able to link my queasy tummy and associated troubles to dairy. So for the past 2 weeks I cut dairy out of my diet, which to say the least has totally sucked. The only reason I’m not a vegan is because of cheese! But the great news is that I’m feeling insanely better. I’m going to find a doctor and get an official diagnosis, fingers crossed, maybe it’s something else.

Removing dairy has put me pretty much in vegan territory. I’ve decided to keep eggs in my diet for protein because existing solely on vegetables, though my dream, requires insane amounts of veggies to sustain you, and let’s face it that can be expensive

Here’s a look at my dairyless life thus far:

 

And not all is lost… these little “dreams” are delicious, they’re made out of almond milk but I swear if you didn’t know, you’d think they were made with moo juice. And they only have 100 calories!

We spent the 4th with friends in Montpelier. And this past weekend, we went to Mark’s parents to see Mark’s mom star in “the Mad Woman of Chaillot”. I also had the opportunity to eat some delicious veggies from Mark’s dad’s vegetable garden… nothing like fresh picked veggies. I’m insanely jealous. He did send us home with some goodies…

A strawberry rhubarb pie bakes as I type:

Greens and Beans

1 tablespoon of oil

½ an onion diced

1 clove of garlic minced

½ teaspoon of red pepper flakes

¼ teaspoon of Italian seasoning

1 bunch of Kale, I used Red Russian because it’s one of the more tender varieties and it was on sale

¼ cup of scallions, sliced thinly

1 cup of cannellini beans

Lots of black pepper

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add in oil. Once the oil is hot, add in the onions and sauté for 4 minutes then add in the garlic and sauté for 1 minute. Then add in the red pepper flakes and Italian seasoning and sauté for 30 seconds. Then add in the kale and scallions and sauté for about 3 minutes or until the kale is wilted. Then add in the beans and sauté for 1 minute to warm the beans. Top with black pepper and enjoy.



I also impulsively signed up for cooking light magazine, $13 for 13 issues… how could I not? So I’ve been checking the mail compulsively.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

