Very Berry Smoothie (lactose free)

After a rainy start to the week, the second half has been beautiful…. high 70’s and sunny. So I’ve been taking advantage of the weather the past few days.

On Tuesday, I volunteered at the Lake Champlain Basin Program Resource Room. The LCBP is “a federal, state, provincial, and local initiative to restore and protect Lake Champlain and its surrounding watershed for future generations.” And their resource room is where you can go to learn information or ask questions about the lake. I’ve been volunteering there once a week for the past month. It’s been great, this week I got to have a long discussion about kettle lakes, a type of glacially formed lake.

It was Sunny the whole time I was there but as soon as I left it started raining, so I went for a quick 2mile run then I did  Nike Training Club’s 45 minute “crunch and burn”. Man, did I feel the burn the next day. The NTC app is free on your apple devices. It has 4 categories: Get Lean, Toned, Strong and Focused. And workouts range from 15 to 45 minutes and beginner to advanced. It lets you pick your own music and gives you words of encouragement though each exercise. It’s like a free gym membership at home.

On Wednesday I went for a 15 mile bike ride along the lake, all the way to the Winooski River.

On Thursday, I biked 3.4 miles, stopped locked my bike, ran 4 miles, got back on my bike and rode the 3.4 miles home

Today, I went for a hilly 4.5 mile run

To refuel when I got back from these workouts, I sipped on a protein packed smoothie. Since finding out I was lactose intolerant, I’ve been trying to replace the protein I’ve been missing in my diet. Insert Green Valley Organic Lactose Free Kefir.

It’s natural cow’s milk that has had the lactose broken down to sugars that are easier for your intestines to digest. And the plain only has 90 calories per 8 oz serving and 8 grams of protein.

Very Berry Smoothie (175 calories, 8 g protein in 1 12 oz serving)

3/4 cup of Plain Green Valley Organic Lactose Free Kefir (or your kefir brand of choice)

1/2 cup of frozen blue berries

4 frozen strawberries

1/2 a frozen banana

2-3 ice cubes (depending on how thick you want it)

Blend all ingredients up in the blender for 2-4 minutes, until smooth. Pour into a 12oz glass and enjoy! Garnish with: frozen fruit, flax seeds or a basil sprig (optional).

Leave a comment

Filed under Snacks

Leave a Reply

