Corn and Potato Chowder

The pace of life has picked up a little bit lately, hence the lack of blogging. Here’s a little recap: 2 weeks ago, Friday, I got a call asking if I could start the coming Monday at the Green Mountain Coffee Roasters Research and Development Lab as a Test Technician… um yes? They are a temp-t0-hire company, so as of now, until I can prove my skills in the lab and work hard, I’m a “temporary” employee. Which for me, is fine, I am still on my parent’s health care and after 2 months off from work, I’m not really in need of a paid vacation. It’s been going well, I’m enjoying it a lot, but it is a 30 minute commute each way…  which means that 6 am runs are now a part of my life.

On Saturday, to celebrate my employment, we went to Vermont Brewers Fest. You paid 30 dollars, got a souvenir tasting glass and 15 drink tickets. There were 40 craft brewers from Vermont, New England and beyond. It was an awesome time, but let me just say that when you start drinking at 11:30 am and all you’ve had to eat was a banana, you get toasted pretty fast. Needless to say, Mark was more than happy to use up the rest of my beer tickets. Here’s our fav’s of the day:

The next weekend I went home for the weekend for a family reunion, and my mom and I did a 16.5 mile bike ride to meet my friend, Ali, for breakfast at Sunny Side Up Cafe. It was great to hangout with my family for the weekend, especially since my brother is leaving for college in 2 weeks.

On Tuesday, Mark’s Parents came up for dinner and brought us a cooler full of veggies from their garden… it was like a CSA delivery. They brought: yellow squash, zucchini, spaghetti squash, broccoli, cauliflower, and cucumbers. Here’s a look at our veggie packed dinners using their veggies:

And they took us out to the Farm House Tap and Grill for dinner.

Now that I’ve filled you in on the happenings, let me rant about sweet summer corn… can you say Yum?!? We picked up a ton of corn at the farmers market and man oh man was it good. I made a corn and potato chowder after seeing a recipe on Taylor’s Blog.

Corn and Potato Chowder (serves 2 to 3)

1 Hungarian wax pepper

2 tablespoons of olive oil, divided

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

4 ears of Corn

2 potatoes, cubed, skin still on (you can use russet or red or Yukon)

3 cups of water (plus more, depending on how starch everything is)

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Lots of black pepper

15 basil leaves

Place the Hungarian wax pepper under the broiler or over a gas burner and char on all sides until the skin becomes blistered. Place in a zip top bag for a few minutes and then run under cool water, removing the skin with your fingers. Pull out stem and seeds. Slice thinly and set aside. While the pepper roasts, remove the corn from the cob, I found that if you invert a small bowl in a larger bowl and place the corn cob on top of the inverted bowl, using it as a stand, you can use a sharp knife and cut down the sides of the cob, and the kernels will be caught by the big bowl instead of going all over your kitchen. Make sure you keep an eye on the pepper though.

In a large pot, add in one tablespoon of oil; add in the garlic and onion and sauté for 2 minutes. Then add in the corn (reserve one cup of kernels for later), cubed potato and water. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 20 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

While the soup simmers, heat the remaining tablespoon of oil in a small frying pan, add in in the basil leaves and 1/4 of the wax pepper slices. Sauté until the basil is crisp. Scoop them out of the oil, and onto a paper towel. You can save the oil for pizza sauce or spaghetti, as it’s been flavored quite nicely.

Once the potatoes are tender, remove from heat. Add in the red peppers flakes, black pepper, and the remaining Hungarian wax pepper. Let it cool a bit then, using and immersion blender (or regular blender), blend until smooth. Return to the heat, add in the 1 cup of reserved corn kernels and simmer for 15 minutes.

Serve up garnished with fried basil leaves and wax peppers slices and a few grinds of fresh black pepper. I served mine with a side salad and a thick slice of homemade beer-rye bread. (Yes that’s right, BEER-RYE bread, it contains one bottle of lager)

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner, soup

2 responses to “Corn and Potato Chowder

  1. Your food looks amazing! You create really beautiful dishes. Is a wax pepper spicy? I don’t know if I’ve had one before.

    • Thanks! Wax peppers are equivalent in spice level to jalapeños or chipotle peppers… Either of which would make a nice substitution if you can’t find wax peppers.

Leave a Reply

