Muffin Tin Omelets

So Mark and I have been obsessed with the Olympics… watching it every chance we can get. I’m sad that it’s ending tonight, can’t it just go on forever. Staring at these uber fit athletes has highlighted that this whole working full time thing has made me feel like I’m starting to get out of shape. I went on a 4.5 mile run yesterday and let’s just say: Asthma 1, Maggie 0 (I think it was due to the humidity and pollen count but it was still really discouraging). So I mixed it up today and went for an almost 20 mile bike ride out to the causeway in Colchester.

So, I go on these breakfast kicks where I eat the same thing every day for months on end. As of late however, I’ve been looking to change it up… I need something to keep me satisfied until lunch and that is easy to make in the morning. Enter make-ahead muffin tin omelets. These single serve “muffins” are customizable and I can make a whole batch on the weekend then pop them in the freezer. The night before I transfer the number of muffins I want to the fridge. Then in the morning, I pop them back in the oven for 5 to 10 minutes to reheat them.

They’re packed with protein and veggies and they’re portable… perfect for a rushed morning. You can use whatever veggies you’d like…

Muffin Tin Omelets

Makes 12 muffins

½ cup of broccoli

1 teaspoon of oil

¼ cup of chopped onion

¼ cup of chopped red pepper

¼ cup of mushroom

½ cup of spinach, shredded

2.25 cups of eggs or egg substitute (about 9 eggs)

Black pepper

Red pepper flakes

Preheat the oven to 350. Cook the broccoli by steaming, blanching or microwaving. While the broccoli cooks, heat the oil in a small sauté pan, add in the onion and sauté for 2 minutes then add in the bell pepper and sauté for 2 minutes. Then add in the mushroom and sauté for 2 minutes. The stir in the spinach and let it wilt and remove the pan from the heat and add in the broccoli.

Spray a muffin tin with cooking spray or rub with and oiled paper towel. Spoon 2 tablespoons or so of veggies into the bottom of each cup. Crack eggs into a bowl and beat together, or measure out 2.25 cups of egg substitute. Mix in the pepper and red pepper flakes. Spoon about 3 tablespoons of egg into each cup. Place the muffin tin in the oven for about 20 minutes. I turned the broiler on for the last minute to brown the tops.

You can eat them hot, or you can freeze them and then pull them out and put them in the fridge the night before you eat them. To reheat, stick them in a 350 oven for 5 to 10 minutes, with the broiler on for the last minute.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast

One response to “Muffin Tin Omelets

  1. They look delicious, Maggie! I’ll definitely have to try them 🙂

Leave a Reply

