Pumpkin Pie Breakfast Smoothie

My runs have been cold the past few morings, the leaves are starting to change, it is starting to smell like fall and I’ll take any excuse to bust out the pumpkin! I might have been obsessed last year, but I can feel that this year will bring it to a whole new level. I brought out the fall centerpiece for our table and the apple pie candle.

One case of Shipyard Pumpkinhead has already been consumed.

Coconut Pumpkin Bars have been made (more to come in the next post)

Pumpkin Pancakes have been eaten

And every morning for the past week and a half I have eaten a Pumpkin Pie Breakfast Smoothie

It packs 18 grams of protein, 10 grams of fiber and 290 calories… keeping you full and satisfied until lunch.

On a side note, I started training for a new full time job last week at KeyBank. It was hard to leave Green Mountain Coffee, but after weighing the pros and cons, even though Key is not my ideal job, it makes more sense regarding job security, benefits and pay. And it’s only for a year… it’ll motivate me that much more to get into grad school next fall at UVM (fingers crossed). GRE study books: get ready to be dusted off and poured over.

Linking this back to pumpkin, this breakfast smoothie is supper great for those busy morning before work/school, you prepare it the night before, then in the morning give it a whirl in the food processor or blender with half a frozen banana and voila… breakfast is ready.

A little note on the protein powder…I like to use Nutiva Organic Hemp Protein. It has 15 g of protein and 8 grams of fiber in a 3 tablespoon serving and it only has 1 ingredient: ground hemp seeds. Hemp protein is an “easily digestible, high quality plant protein with branched-chain amino acids that are vital for good heath”, boasts the packaging. It is also contains magnesium, iron, zinc and 8 essential amino acids. I like the Hemp Protein 15g because it has a higher protein content and it is ideal for dissolving in smoothies. Let’s be honest, some protein powders are chalky and loaded with weird ingredients you can’t pronounce… not to mention most soy based protein powders are processed with hexane, which is a petroleum solvent similar to gasoline. (Nutiva is not). (I am not endorsing Nutiva, I just happen to really like it)

Pumpkin Pie Breakfast Smoothie

1/4 oats

1/4 cup pumpkin

2/3 cup kefir

2 teaspoons maple syrup

dash of cinnamon

dash of pumpkin pie spice

1 1/2 tablespoons of hemp protein (or whatever you like)

1/2 a frozen banana

Combine all ingredients except for banana, and place in fridge overnight. In the morning, blend the mixture in a blender or food processor with the banana until smooth, about 30 seconds.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

2 responses to “Pumpkin Pie Breakfast Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Coconut Pumpkin Bars | Kiwi to My Heart

  2. Oooo, hemp protein–new to me and very interesting. I stick to whey and egg white, but this sounds like another option, especially since I make smoothies fairly often. I’ll keep my eyes peeled! 🙂

Leave a Reply

