Apple Streusel Cake

Sunday, after some grocery shopping, a five mile run, an ab workout and some cleaning, I spent the afternoon in the kitchen. The analytical side of my brain loves baking, it’s like an experiment. Baking is really the only time that I follow a recipe, it’s all about proportions, and if you mess those up you can end up with a disaster.  Sometimes I get an idea in my head and can’t find an already existing recipe in my cookbooks or on the internet. If I can find a solid recipe to use as a jumping off point, then the wheels start churning in my brain, swap this for that, change this, increase that, and voila!

Since we have 7 lbs of apples that we picked, I wanted to make a vegan apple cake, loaded with apples and a streusel topping, I wanted a layer of apples to cover the entire top, like an apple upside-down cake, but I also wanted apples in the batter, and I wanted a cinnamony-sugary-crumbly topping. I wanted it to be whole wheat, flavorful and moist and trick people into thinking it had sour cream or egg yolks or something like that in it. Maybe I’m crazy.

Maybe I shouldn’t have cleaned before I baked, I made a mess and had to re-clean the floor and counter. But it was worth the extra cleaning, this cake is awesome. It was what I had in my head… The analytical side of my brain is very pleased with itself.

I also made butternut squash soup, and roasted the squash while the cake baked away in the oven… conserving energy! Ahh, the return of Soup Sundays!

Apple Streusel Cake

Streusel:
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup of corn meal
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup vegan butter, softened, such as earth balance
1/2 cup of oats
2 tablespoons vegan vanilla yogurt, such as Whole Soy Co Vanilla Yogurt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
 
Cake:
1/2 cup vegan butter, melted
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup vegan vanilla yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cups whole wheat flour
1/4 cup of corn meal
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
3 apples peeled and cored. 1 diced and 2 sliced thinly
 

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a 9X9 or 8X12 pan and lightly dust with flour. In a small bowl, combine all the streusel ingredients and set aside.

For the cake: In a large bowl, combine the butter, sugar, applesauce, yogurt and vanilla extract with a wooden spoon. Then add in the flour, corn meal, baking soda, baking powder and vinegar, stir to combine.

Peel and core the apples. Dice one up and leave the other 2 in ¼ inch slices. Stir the diced apple into the cake batter. Spread the batter evenly into the prepared pan. Place the apple slices in a single layer over the batter, overlapping the slices slightly. Dot the streusel over the top of the apple layer, allowing the apple layer to peak through. Place in the oven and bake for 45-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

end photo montage… cake flavors marry together the longer they sit, so it tastes better the next day, warmed back up in the oven or microwave.
 
2 Comments

Filed under Dessert

2 responses to “Apple Streusel Cake

  1. Thank you! I use to love making Struesel before going vegan and I had been hoping to find a veganised recipe 🙂
    Mark
    http://herbifit.wordpress.com

  2. Holy yum–the streusel cake looks delicious! My family went apple picking this weekend too, so we have a ton of apples to use for baking, cooking, and snacking.

Leave a Reply

