Cabbage and Apple Slaw

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month… So I would like to take a moment to acknowledge all the women and men who have been affected by breast cancer. Breast cancer runs in my family, my mom, my maternal grandmother and my maternal great aunt all had it. This puts me at a much higher risk, so becoming aware, getting check-ups, eating healthy and exercising have been a crucial part of my life.

My mom was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer the summer before I entered 7th grade. After a rough year of treatment, she went into remission and has been cancer free for a just about a decade! Four years ago my grandmother passed away from breast cancer and last year my great aunt passed away from it, as well.

When I was 16, my mom and I walked 60 miles in 3 days to raise money for the Susan G Komen Foundation. It was one of the best weekends of my life. It was such a supportive community and I learned a lot about breast cancer!

The National Cancer Institute estimates that 80% of cancer cases are preventable and the number one preventative measure is maintaining a healthy lifestyle (source). Recent studies, including one out of Harvard University, have shown that a vegan diet can reduce the risk of many types of cancer (source). My mom was part of study at Yale that demonstrated that exercise can help prevent cancer or reduce the risk of its reoccurrence (source)   Another recent study has linked eating cruciferous vegetables with the prevention of breast cancer (source). A Chinese study found a correlation between the consumption of cruciferous vegetables and an increased survival rate of those battling breast cancer (source).  I’ll eat loads of whatever veggies are linked to prevention, I mean loads.

Cruciferous vegetables include : Arugula, bok choy, broccoli, brussels sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, collard greens, horseradish, kale, radishes, rutabagas, turnips, watercress, and wasabi

(source)

So I made a healthy cabbage and apple slaw in honor of breast cancer awareness month… so load up a big bowl of this salad and chow down for the sake of your breasts.

Speaking of my strong and brave mother, she and my dad came to visit this weekend. Though the weather was less than ideal, we were still able to sneak in a 15 mile bike ride along the lake and a walk along the bike path in Stowe to admire the foliage through the mist.

We had dinner at the Farmhouse Tap and Grill on Saturday and lunch in Stowe on Sunday. My parents also bought us a jar of maple walnut peanut butter from the Vermont Peanut Butter Co… I’m afraid to open it because it might disappear too quickly.

Cabbage and Apple Slaw

2 large servings
 
1/2 a head of green cabbage shredded
1 apple, julienned
2 tablespoons of dried cranberries
1/4 cup of almonds, sliced slivered (I used tamari roasted almonds for more flavor)
2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon of mustard
black pepper
 

Whisk together cider vinegar, mustard and black pepper in the bottom of a large bowl, add in the remaining ingredients and toss to coat.

You can eat the whole bowl… it’s helping prevent cancer!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads

Leave a Reply

